How to delete a person from plan

To remove a spouse / partner from a plan (or any person for that matter), you will need to first delete or reassign ownership of every item in the plan as well as any unique items within child scenarios that are owned or co-owned by the spouse.

1. Go to the People screen and on the People panel, on the right side of the screen, select the name of person who is to be deleted from the plan.

2. Click the "Delete this Person" button.

3. A warning message will display. Click Yes to continue.

4. A message will then display stating that this person cannot be deleted. All of the items in the plan that are owned or co-owned by this individual will be listed.

5. Rather than noting these items, it is usually best to simply go through the plan screen-by-screen and either delete or reassign ownership of these items.

- To delete an item, locate the item within the plan and click the delete (X) button next to it in the ledger, located on the right side side of the screen. 

- To reassigning ownership of an item, locate the item within the plan, select this item in the ledger, go to the People panel (also located on the right side of the screen), deselect the check mark next to the name of the person you are deleting from the plan. Next, select (check) the new owner of the item on People panel.

- If the item was formerly co-owned and is to remain in the plan, deselect the check mark next to the name of the person you are deleting from the plan.

6. Return to the People screen and on the People panel, on the right side of the screen, select the name of the person who is to be deleted.

7. Click the "Delete this Person" button.

8. A warning message will display. Click Yes to continue.

9. If any items remain in the plan that are either owned or co-owned by this person, a message will display again stating that this person cannot be deleted and a list of these items shown.

10.  Edit the ownership of these items or delete them. The dialogue will identify items that are unique to certain scenarios within the client file.

11.  Once these items are edited or deleted, return to the People screen and try once more to delete this person.

 

Related topics

How to delete a primary client from a plan