Citrix Hosting - Potential issues with authorised computer limits

Voyant licenses normally allow the licensee to run the software on up to two authorised computers. 

When signing into a Citrix environment, you may be assigned to any one of a range of virtual computer IDs. Voyant uses computer IDs (MAC addresses) to confirm which computers are authorised for a Voyant licence. Computer IDs are normally static when running Voyant on a personal computer whereas these addresses are dynamic on a Citrix environment. 

If you use Voyant in a hosted virtual environment such as Citrix and run afoul of our authorised computer check, you may need to contact Voyant Support to request having this check overridden or your authorisation limit increased to account for the range of virtual computers in your Citrix environment. There is normally no charge associated with this reconfiguration.

Aside from this, you might also consider instead running Voyant on a local computer if this does not present an inconvenience. Client data is stored on our servers and can be synchronised between multiple computers (up to two per licence) and easily shared between you and your colleagues, if necessary.

 

About Authorised Computers

Voyant licenses normally allow the licensee to run the software on up to two authorised computers. Voyant is not a kiosk software that can be used on any and every computer, which is important, considering that client information can be encrypted and stored locally for offline access. 

When Voyant is installed on a computer or a server, that machine's MAC address will be registered, tracking it as one of the user's two authorised devices. If Voyant is installed on a second computer, the second authorisation slot is taken. If the user attempts to install Voyant on a third computer, exceeding the two computer limit, a message will be shown stating that the authorisation limit has already been reached and a link provided to manage and potentially deauthorise a computer. 

A user may deauthorise a computer and reauthorise another, thereby freeing an authorisation slot for use by another computer. However, once a computer has been deauthorised, one would need assistance from Voyant Support to reauthorise a computer. We enforce this rule so as to prevent license abuse. 

Note: Once a computer is authorised for an active Voyant user, any Voyant user could potentially access the software on that machine without it being registered as an authorised device for these additional users. For example, a firm has multiple Voyant user accounts. These users all use Voyant from time to time on a shared computer in a conference room. Only one user at the firm would need to install Voyant on this computer and when doing so, the computer would be registered as an authorised device under that user's Voyant license. Once recognised as an authorised device, any of this user's colleagues could access the same computer using their own Voyant accounts without the computer being registered as one of their own authorised devices.