Share a client record with a colleague

When you create a client record you own it. And as the owner of the record, you have the option to share it with your colleagues.

Colleagues in your firm's subscription may already be able to access your client records if they are the subscription administrator, the owner of the subscription, or if they have been granted special permissions to access all of the client records within the subscription. Otherwise, for a colleague to access a record you have created, you would need to share that record with your colleague. 

 

How to grant co-ownership of a client record to a colleague

To share ownership of a client file with a colleague or to grant yourself these permissions first open the software.

1. Click your desktop link  to the software. The Open Client Record dialogue will display when you first open the software, following the Upcoming Training screen.

2. If you are already working in the software, click the Client: Open button, top-left.

3. Select the All Clients tab.

If you are the owner of the subscription or have “all client access”, all of the client records created by your firm will be shown on this tab.

The "Connected To" column will show who owns the file. Note that there is a limited amount of space in this column so you may move your cursor over the name of the owner to view the complete list of owners, should multiple users already have ownership of the client file.

4. Select the client record you want to share with a colleague or with yourself.

5. Click the Share button.

The Shares dialogue will display showing a list of users that currently have direct access to the client file and their permissions.

6. Enter your colleague’s (or your own) first name, last name, or e-mail address and click Search.

7. Select the level of permissions that will be granted to you or your colleague:

Full Control - Full access to read, edit, and share the file with others in your firm.

Write - View and edit the client file.

Read - Read-only access to the client file.

 

8. Select Full Control to grant co-ownership of the client file. This level of access will also ensure that the file can be accessed when working offline.  

9. Click the Plus (+) button to add this person to the list of those sharing the client file shown at the top of the dialogue. 

10. Click the OK button.

This permissions update will be synchronised with our servers.

 

Offline Access

It is also important to understand that even if a colleague has access to all of the client records in your firm's subscription (as shown on the All Clients tab of the Open Client Record dialogue), these records will only be accessible to your colleagues when they are working online. To access a client case in Voyant while offline, the user must have ownership or co-ownership of the client case. 

Luckily, you can grant a colleague access to and possibly co-ownership over an individual client file in just a few quick steps. 

The My Clients tab, within the Open Client Record dialogue box, shows not only the client files owned by your user account, it also indicates which files will be available to you when working offline.

The All Clients tab, by contrast, shows the records stored on our servers. These may be a mix of your own client cases, those created and owned by your user account, and files created and owned by your colleagues that you are allowed to access.

Client files that will be available offline are marked with an asterisk on the Open Client Record dialogue.

 

Related Topics

Offline Mode - Set up the software for occasional offline use, set an offline passcode

Best practices. Thirteen things to know about offline mode

 

For Further Reading

For more information on offline mode, view our offline guide.