Is there a limit on the number of computers on which I can install and run Voyant?

Authorised (Authorized) Computers and Authorisation Limits

Q - Does my Voyant license allow me to run Voyant from any computer? 

A - Voyant licenses normally allow the licensee to run the software on up to two authorised computers. Voyant is not a kiosk software that can be used on any and every computer, which is important, considering that client information can be encrypted and stored locally for offline access. 

When Voyant is installed on a computer (or a server), that machine's MAC address will be registered, tracking it as one of the user's two authorised devices. If Voyant were then installed on a second computer, the second authorisation slot would be taken automatically.

If the user were to then attempt to install Voyant on a third computer, exceeding the two computer limit, a message will display stating that the authorisation limit has already been reached.

This message also provides a Manage Computers link to a web page where these authorised computers can be reviewed and potentially deauthorised. 

Note: You may deauthorise a computer and reauthorise another, thereby freeing an authorisation slot for use by another computer. But once a computer has been deauthorised, you would need assistance from Voyant Support to reauthorise a computer. We enforce this rule so as to prevent license abuse. 

 

Close and Reopen Voyant

If you do deauthorise a computer, you will need to then close Voyant and reopen it. When Voyant is reopened and you sign in, the new computer will use the now available authorisation slot, becoming one of the authorised devices for your user account. 

 

Authorisation Limits in Cases Where Multiple Users Share the Same Computer 

Once a computer is authorised for an active Voyant user, any Voyant user could potentially access the software on that machine without it being registered as an authorised device for these additional users. For example, a firm has multiple Voyant user accounts. These users all use Voyant from time to time on a shared computer in a conference room. Only one user at the firm would need to install Voyant on this computer and when doing so, the computer would be registered as an authorised device under that user's Voyant license. Once recognised as an authorised device, any of this user's colleagues could access the same computer using their own Voyant accounts without the computer being registered as one of their own authorised devices. 

 

Where to view your own authorized computers and possibly deauthorize a computer that is no longer in use

To view the list of authorised computers for your own user account and to possibly deauthorise a computer that is no longer in use: 

1. First, open your browser and go to the appropriate website, depending on the version of Voyant you use.

Which website you visit to register and install the software will depend on which version of Voyant you intend to use. 

ca_sm.png

  Canada - canada.planwithvoyant.com

ie_sm.png

  Ireland - www.planwithvoyant.ie

uk_sm.png

  United Kingdom - www.planwithvoyant.co.uk

us_sm.png

  United States - www.planwithvoyant.com

 

2. Click My Profile.

3. On the left side of the screen click Authorized Computers

A page will appear displaying your account’s authorized computers as well as computers you may have deauthorised in the past. 

If you need to deauthorise a computer that you no longer used to run Voyant, click the Deauthorize link next to that computer's details. The computer will be added to the list of those deauthorised at the bottom of the page. 

Important Note: Once you have deauthorised a computer, you would need to contact Voyant Support to reauthorize it should the need arise to run Voyant on that computer again.

 

View a user's authorized computers and possibly deauthorize a computer that is no longer in use

If you are a subscription owner or the manager of a Voyant subscription, you also have the option to view the authorised computers of the users within your subscription and to possibly deauthorise a computer that is no longer in use. 

To view authorised computer information: 

1. First, open your browser and go to the appropriate website, depending on the version of Voyant you use. 

ca_sm.png

  Canada - canada.planwithvoyant.com

ie_sm.png

  Ireland - www.planwithvoyant.ie

uk_sm.png

  United Kingdom - www.planwithvoyant.co.uk

us_sm.png

  United States - www.planwithvoyant.com

 

2. Click either My Subscription > View Users in Subscription, 

  

 

Or click Users > User Search and then click the Search button, after possibly enttering search criteria in the fields provided. 

 

3. Click the link to the user's Full Name

4. Click the link to view the user's Authorized Computers.

A page will appear displaying the user's current authorised computers as well as computers that were deauthorised in the past. 

If you need to deauthorise a computer that you no

 longer used to run Voyant, click the Deauthorize link next to that computer's details. The computer will be added to the list of those deauthorised at the bottom of the page. 

Important Note: Once you have deauthorised a computer, you would need to contact Voyant Support to reauthorize it should the need arise to run Voyant on that computer again.