Q: Is the software being re-downloaded, every time I hit the shortcut?

Every time I click on the desktop 'shortcut', to launch the software, it looks like it is being 'downloaded' all over again. Is this actually what's happening?

For clarification, the (Java) Web Start mechanism does not attempt to download a new version of the Voyant application on every launch. Rather, it attempts to verify that all of the application resources are up-to-date on every launch. If (Java) Web Start is unable to reach the Voyant server for some reason, it will launch the locally-cached copy of the Voyant application.

Moreover, the Voyant application itself requires online authentication every 7 days in order to verify licensing. This frequency also insures that the latest version has been updated via the Web Start mechanism.