Clutter is a fact of life. As you work in Voyant over time, you will likely accumulate a number of client records that you no longer need to access on a regular basis. Add to these the odd test case or two and you may find yourself sifting through a considerable amount of clutter when attempting to view your book of business in Voyant Adviser and AdviserGo. When the time comes to do some housekeeping, you have two options.
Option 1 - Delete client records that are no longer in use
You could simply delete the client record. However, our system offers no feature for easily retrieving client records once they've been deleted. There is no recycle bin like the one you will find on Windows and Mac computers. Once deleted, a client record is moved into our system's store deleted items from which it will be automatically and permanently purged after two years. Only a Voyant database administrator would be able to retrieve a deleted item from this table.
Option 2 - Archive client records that are no longer in use
Another more flexible option for keeping your book of business up to date in Voyant is to archive unused client records. Archived client records are simply removed from view. Archived records are also omitted automatically from the analytics reports that show your assets under management, client demographics and other general information about your book of business.
Archived client cases will not appear in your list of client records in Voyant Adviser and AdviserGo nor will they shown to managers and colleagues. The result is a clean view of your book of business. Then if at any point you need to access an archived client case again, you can easily "un-archive" it, bringing the case back into view, at least until you decide to archive it again.
Who is allowed to archive client records?
To archive a client record you must be a subscription manager or a subscription owner. System administrators can also assist with archiving client records, which incidentally, is something that can be accomplished through a bulk update of client records.
Otherwise, individual user must be granted the special “Client Archiver” role to be allowed to archive their client cases. This role can be granted to individual users by subscription managers, subscription owners, or through the assistance of system administrators, provided the subscription owner has granted approval.
How to archive a client record
Archiving is an administrative function that is performed on our website, not in our software Voyant Adviser or AdviserGo.
To archive client cases, first be sure that you have the special permissions necessary to do so, as detailed in the section above. Contact your subscription manager/owner or Voyant Support if you are unsure if you have this level of access.
1. Log into our Voyant UK website, http://www.planwithvoyant.co.uk.
2. Click the Clients link in the top navigation and select Client Search in the drop-down menu.
3. Enter the name of a specific client or simply click Search (without entering any search criteria) for a complete list of your clients.
4. Click the name of a client record you want to archive.
5. If you have the permissions necessary to archive client records, You will see the link "Click to archive". Click this link to archive the record (which will not delete the client record).
6. When prompted, confirm that you want the record archived.
Archiving the record will now take it out of the list of available client records shown to you and your colleagues in Voyant Adviser and AdviserGo. Archiving will also remove the client record from analytics reports and if you use Voyant Adviser, it will also prevent the client record from being part of your regular synchronization process with our servers.
A red banner will appear at the top of the page making it readily apparent that the record is now archived and has been moved out of view. It will also be noted onscreen that the archived record will be omitted from analytics reports. To include the record in analytics would require de-archiving it.
How to de-archive a client record, making it accessible again
If you need to access the record again:
1. Follow the same steps outlined above to log in to our website and find the client record.
2. Click the link "Click to UN-archive" to bring the record back into your list of clients, making it accessible again for editing and presentation.
Archiving client records does not control client access
Archiving currently flags records as being hidden from the adviser's view. Archiving a client record will not deactivate any associated client accounts that may be granted access to the record.
As a best practice, before archiving a client record, consider viewing the list of people who have shared access to the client case. Records connected to clients can be easily viewed in the clients list in AdviserGo, as shown below.
If the Client Access column shows a status of "Connected", a client has been granted and has accepted access to the case.
A status of "Sent" in this column indicates an invitation has been sent to the client but has not been accepted by the client - i.e. the client hasn't responded and registered to access the case. If you intend to archive the case, consider withdrawing the invitation. Doing so will free the client license to be assigned to a different client.
Another option is after you've found a client record on our website and are ready to archive it, scroll down to view a list of the users who have direct access to the case. If the case is shared with a "Consumer User", a client has been grated access to it.
If a client has access to the record and you want to remove access, deactivate the client's license. Client licenses are also managed outside of the software on the Voyant website.
How to run a report of archived clients
To run a report showing all (or some) of the client cases archived under your user account, within your subscription, or within any group within the system that you manage:
1. Sign into our website and click the Clients link in the top navigation. Select Client Search in the drop-down menu.
2. Set Archived to "Yes" in the search form.
3. Enter any search parameters or simply click Search (without entering any search criteria) for a complete list of the client records your account can access that are currently archived.