May 2020 Release - Access Your Client Files Faster, Synchronisation Process **Voyant Adviser, UK and Ireland**

In our May 2020 release of Voyant Adviser, the synchronisation process in Voyant Adviser has been streamlined to make accessing and saving your client files markedly quicker.

Before we continue, if you primarily use AdviserGo, please note that the following updates apply only to Voyant Adviser. AdviserGo is used strictly online, so synchronisation for offline use is not an issue.

 

What is Synchronisation?

Voyant Adviser stores client files in two locations.

- Files are stored first and foremost on our cloud servers, allowing you to access your client files from any computer using our software - Voyant Adviser and AdviserGo.

- Voyant Adviser also stores client files locally, on your computer in an encrypted database, to allow you access to them when working offline.

When you first open Voyant Adviser or whenever you save any changes to your client files, the software performs checks to make sure all the copies of your client files stored locally (those saved on your computer) match those stored on our servers. This process is called synchronisation or “syncing” for short.

 

The Issue

Up to now, Voyant would sync all your client files, including those cases you access infrequently, if ever. Over time, continually checking this growing number of files would become slower as the number of client files in your library, as well as the number of past versions within these files grew. Syncing slowness could be even worse for those slow internet connections.

 

The Improvement

To address this issue, we have overhauled the synchronisation process to speed up access to your client files in Voyant Adviser. Syncing has been streamlined to focus processing only on the client files you have been recently reviewing or updating. We’ve made this process more efficient by only syncing files that have been opened or updated over the last 14 days.

Whenever you open a client file it will be automatically synced and the latest copy of it is saved locally to your computer. Syncing also occurs whenever you save changes to a client file. Click the Save button in Voyant Adviser and the updated file will be saved to both our cloud servers and locally on your computer.

01.png

 

Changes in Voyant Adviser

Most of the visible changes in Voyant Adviser related to the revamping of synchronisation will be found on the software’s Open Client Record dialogue.

02.png

 

Synced Clients - A new tab called Synced Clients has been added to show all your client files that have been saved at some point locally to your computer. Think of the Synced Clients tab as a view of the client files that would remain available for you to access if you were working offline, provided you have offline mode enabled in Voyant Adviser.

03.png

 

Important Note – Although the client files shown on this tab are available for access offline, they may not be up to date if you haven’t opened the file recently within the last 14 days. If you intend to access a client file offline, be sure to at least open it beforehand while you are still working online. Opening the file while online will ensure that you have the latest version of the case saved locally to your computer for later, should you need to access it offline.

Considering that the software has up to now continually synced all of your client records, new and old, it is likely that the list of your Synced Clients will match your complete list of clients, which is shown on the My Clients tab, provided that you are accessing Voyant on a computer you’ve been using prior to this release.

However, if you were to install Voyant on an entirely new computer, Synced Clients will be blank initially. Don’t be alarmed. Once you begin opening client records, copies of these records will be synced and saved locally. Once synced, the client will then appear on the Synced Clients tab, indicating the file is available for offline access. This is how syncing has been streamlined. Only the client files you’ve recently opened will be synced. Client files that you haven’t been accessing will be left out of this process.

My Clients - The My Clients tab continues to offer a view of all the client files on our cloud servers that are directly connected to your account. These are the client files you “own” or co-own with colleagues. If you create a client file, your account is assumed to be the file’s owner and it will appear on your My Clients tab. Also, if a colleague were to share ownership of a client file with you, it too would appear on this tab.

04.png

 

My Clients operates essentially as it did before, only in the past My Clients was synonymous with Synced Clients. There was no need for a special tab to show your Synced Clients because all client files would be continually re-synced between your computer and our servers. Now the software only synchronises files you’ve opened in the last 14 days.

Notation on this tab shows which of your client files are synced and available for offline access, as indicated by an asterisk (*).

 05.png

 

Notation also shows which client files have yet to be synchronised locally but could be by simply opening them as you work online. Unsynchronised files are noted with a “V”.

06.png

 

All Clients - The All Clients tab shows all the client files you are allowed to access on our cloud servers. These will include your own client files and possibly others depending on your permissions. If you are a subscription owner, a manager, a member of a special team for sharing cases, or have been granted special access to all of the client files in your firm’s subscription, you will probably have access to additional client files not owned directly by your user account. These files together with your own will be shown on the All Clients tab.

To improve performance, the software will no longer automatically display all client files. Either enter search criteria in the fields above or enter nothing and simply click Search to view all the client files you are allowed to access on the Voyant cloud servers.

07.png

 

As is the case on the My Clients tab, notation will indicate which files are synced with your computer. Synced files are indicated by an asterisk. Client files that could be synced but aren’t presently are noted with a “V”.

08.png

 

Note – Client files without notation on the All Clients tab are not available for synchronisation and can only be accessed online. Only files owned by your user account (i.e. those shown on the My Clients tab) can be synced with your computer. Client files that you are permitted to access but don’t own can only be accessed online. Since these client files are owned by other users, the software must be able to confirm your permissions to access them on an ongoing basis, and authorization can only be performed online.

 

New Syncing Options

The Sync button at the bottom of the Open Client Record dialogue also has new options related to the streamlining of synchronisation.

Previously, clicking this button would invariably synchronise all your client records. Now the Sync button is defaulted to only sync records that you have opened or updated in the last 14 days.

 09.png

 

In addition to this new default, the Sync button now has a drop-down menu with two additional options.

 10.png

 

Sync “All previously synchronised clients on this machine” will download to your computer the latest version of any client you’ve ever synced in the past. You might use this option to get a fresh store of all the clients shown on the Synced Clients tab before using the software offline. This could be a convenient option if you don’t know which client files you will need to update while offline. However, bear in mind that the fewer clients you sync the quicker the software will open.

Cancel Sync” allows you to stop a synchronisation in progress if it appears to be taking too long to complete.

 

Related Topics

New Options for Troubleshooting Synchronization Issues (May 2020 Release)

What is Offline Synchronization? Offline mode and offline passcodes

Offline Mode - Activate offline mode and update your offline passcode

Offline Mode - Best practices. Thirteen things to know about offline mode