New Options for Troubleshooting Synchronisation Issues in the May 2020 Release **Voyant Adviser, UK and Ireland**

In our May 2020 release of Voyant Adviser, the synchronisation process in Voyant Adviser has been streamlined to make accessing and saving your client files markedly quicker. 

We have overhauled the synchronisation process to speed up access to your client files in Voyant Adviser. Syncing has been streamlined to focus processing only on the client files you have been recently reviewing or updating. We’ve made this process more efficient by only syncing files that have been opened or updated over the last 14 days. You can read more about this update here

Together with these improvements, which should make syncing noticeably quicker, additional syncing options have been added to the software to assist users who continue to experience slow sync times or in some cases synchronisation errors. 

 

New Syncing Options

The Sync button at the bottom of the Open Client Record dialogue has new options related to the streamlining of synchronisation.

Previously, clicking this button would invariably synchronise all your client records. Now the Sync button is defaulted to only sync records that you have opened or updated in the last 14 days.

 09.png

 

In addition to this new default, the Sync button now has a drop-down menu with two additional options.

Cancel Sync” allows you to stop a synchronisation in progress if it appears to be taking too long to complete.

 10.png

 

Other Options for Troubleshooting Synchronization Issues

In addition to the new option to cancel a sync in progress, other new options are available to help troubleshoot issues with synchronisation.

 

New Application Preference, "Synchronise at Startup"

Whenever you first open the software and sign in, Voyant Adviser will initially synchronise all the client records you’ve opened over the past 14 days. This automatic synchronisation at startup should be markedly faster now that we’ve narrowed the scope of what is being synchronised.   However, if you find this initial synch is cumbersome, that it takes too long to complete, the option is available to disable synchronisation at startup.

This new configuration option is found in Preferences, which can be accessed by opening any client record in Voyant Adviser and clicking the cog button in the toolbar, top-left.

 11.png

 

In the System Preferences, on the left side of the screen, on the Application Preferences panel, is the setting “Synchronise at Startup”, which will be ticked (switched on) by default.

12.png

 13.png

 

We generally recommend that you keep this setting ticked (switched on). Auto-syncing at startup ensures that copies of the latest versions of all the files you’ve been reviewing and possibly updating recently, over the past 14 days, will be available on your computer should you need them offline.

Switch this setting off and files will be synced (the latest copies of them will be stored locally) only when you open them while working online. Conversely, if you were to make any changes to a client file while working offline, you would need to remember to open the file again once you have internet access to ensure the software uploads these updates to the cloud servers.

We think best option is to leave synchronisation at startup on (leave this setting ticked). However, you do have the opportunity to disable this feature if synchronisation at the startup of Voyant Adviser is unbearably slow, making use of the software difficult.

 

Remove Individual Client Files from the List of Synced Clients

Client files can be removed individually from your list of synced files. You might omit a file from syncing that you opened recently but no longer need to access. For example, perhaps you’ve been perusing older cases but don’t mean to continue working on them. There would be no need to keep synchronizing them over the next 14 days, so you could remove these files individually from the Synced Clients list.

To remove an individual client file from your synchronisation list, (1) select the Synced Clients tab on the Open Client Record dialogue, (2) select but do not open the client file, (3) either right-click on the case or with the case selected, click the Sync button, and (4) select the option to remove the selected client from those synced locally.

 14.png

NoteRemoving a client from the synchronisation list does not delete the client file. Once removed, copies of the record will not be saved locally over the next 14 days and onward, at least not until you reopen the case. The case will remain saved, however, on our cloud servers.

Oversized Client Files - This option might also be used to remove certain oversized client files from the synchronisation process. Every time you save a client file, Voyant Adviser will save a complete working copy of the case, captured in the state it was in when saved, as a version within the client file. Versioning is a great feature because it not only gives you the option to revert to previous versions of the case when needed, it also allows you to access older saved versions of the client file if needed for compliance purposes. However, in some cases, older client files that have been saved hundreds if not thousands of times can grow to be enormous.

If synchronisation continues to take ages to complete and eventually errors, it may be that a client files is simply too large for the synchronisation to be completed in a timely manner and the software throws a timeout error. If you encounter an error during synchronisation and think this may be the case, contact Voyant Support. Our team can check your logs to possibly identify the file.

An immediate remedy to this problem would be to remove the culprit from your list of Synced Clients. However, the long-term solution in these cases would be to create a copy of the latest version of the case and archive off the older versions. An option to copy the latest version into a new file and archive off older versions is available on the Voyant website, under My Clients.

 

Related Topics

Access Your Client Files Faster, Synchronization Process Streamlined in May 2020 Release